Shakib Al Hasan returns to Bangladesh ODI squad after skipping Zimbabwe tour for home series against India

Thu, 24 Nov 11:14 PM - SportsTak
shakib al hasan returns to bangladesh odi squad after skipping zimbabwe tour for home series against india

Shakib Al Hasan has returned to Bangladesh's ODI squad for the three-ODI series against India at home starting December 4. Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on November 24 announced the 16-member ODI squad led by Tamim Iqbal. Shakib had opted out of the Zimbabwe tour in July-August.

The notable exclusions from the Bangladesh squad are Mosaddek Hossain, Shoriful Islam and Taijul Islam Mosaddek's exclusion has been justified by his poor performance in the recently-concluded T20 World Cup 2022 squad where Bangladesh crashed out of group stage. He scored just 38 runs from nine games at an average of 8.50.

Shakib is Bangladesh's third-highest run-scorer in ODIs against India. The southpaw scored 591 runs from 17 innings at an average of 26.93 including eight half-centuries. Also, he is third-highest wicket-taker with 19 wickets at an average of 40.05.

So far, India and Bangladesh have faced each other in 36 games. India have won 30 games, lost five whereas one ended in a tie.

Bangladesh ODI squad: Tamim Iqbal (c), Liton Das, Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Mahmudullah, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Nurul Hasan Sohan

On November 23, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) made two changes to the ODI squad. In place of an injured Ravindra Jadeja and Yash Dayal, all-rounder Shahbaz Ahmed and right-arm pacer Kuldeep Sen have been included in the squad. 

India ODI squad for Bangladesh: Rohit Sharma(c), KL  Rahul (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, R Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Shahbaz Ahmed, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Sen

ODI series schedule
Sunday, December 4, 1st ODI, Bangladesh vs India
Wednesday, December 7, 2nd ODI, Bangladesh vs India
Saturday, December 10, 3rd ODI, Bangladesh vs India

Quick Links

Related Articles